external drive
2015 - Clarinet, Alto Saxophone, Piano - [6:30]

If I asked you to imagine a musical representation of a computer crash, I guarantee that you would not imagine anything at all resembling this piece – and that is precisely the point.  external drive represents instead a computer crash from the perspective of the virus causing the crash.  Follow its plight through firewalls and security checkpoints, knowing that a successful mission will also cause the virus to cease existence.

2014 - Flute, Chamber Ensemble
2011 - Flute, Piano

I. Freshwater
II. Saltwater
III. To New Shores

The undulating feeling of push-and-pull found in river and ocean waters extends into every aspect of Currents: rhythmic vigor, metrical drive, harmonic tension, and melodic fluidity.  Inspired by the interconnectivity of all bodies of water, Currents follows a coursing river in its downhill surge, where it reaches a placid sea before flowing on "to new shores."

Although originally written in 2011 for flute and piano, an arrangement was made in 2014 by the composer for solo flute and chamber ensemble consisting of clarinet in A, bass clarinet, soprano sax, 2 horns in f, and double bass.

Clarinet Quintet
2012-2014 - Clarinet, String Quartet

I. Freely - Allegro [5:00]
II. Freely - Scherzando [5:30]
[additional movements in progress]

The first movement of the Clarinet Quintet was written in Vienna, Austria during the Schoenberg Academy 2012.  It was featured on the Lab Concert program along with works by other student composers from around the world.  The second movement of the Clarinet Quintet was written in Fall 2014 in Greensboro, NC.

The Clarinet Quintet (movement 1) was premiered by the Ensemble Wiener Collage at the Arnold Schoenberg Center in Vienna, Austria on June 11, 2012.

The composition of the Clarinet Quintet, I. Freely-Allegro and Ash's participation in the 2012 Schoenberg Academy were supported in part by a generous grant from the Mildred Brown Mayo Undergraduate Research Fund in Music.

Enemy Suite
2011 - Flute, Violin, Viola, Cello, Bass [5:30]

Invitation - Arrival - Departure

Enemy Suite began with Ash's decision to write a programmatic piece based off of Alfred Rethel’s woodcut art Death as An Enemy.  Ash created a story to tell through the music.  The story is as follows (the the scene depicted in the art takes place about one third of the way through):

Imagine a celebration taking place in the 16th century, perhaps at a nobleman's castle or other residence.  People are enjoying themselves and dancing to the music played by a trio of viols and a flute.  Soon, however, a new voice joins in the dance – Death playing his violin of bone.  At first, Death remains disguised – hidden among the harmonies of the ensemble.  Before too long, his presence becomes apparent.

As the music builds, Death distorts the melody and takes over the entire show.  Some of the terrified instrumentalists follow in Death’s wicked waltz while the party guests attempt to flee.  Death leads the group in an awkward tango before making his final gesture and disappearing.

Sadness and despair permeate throughout the scene after Death’s arrival and departure.